Home / News / Students receive variety of awards

Students receive variety of awards

Apr 28, 2015

During the April 27 Student Awards Ceremony, numerous Rockingham Community College students received awards and recognition for their academic excellence, commitment, service, leadership, and contributions to the college and to their communities.

Awards were given in three categories. 

Student Organization Awards

Art Club Outstanding Leadership Award: William Zachary Andrews, Megan Patterson

Criminal Justice Club Recognitions for Outstanding Service: Danielle Clark-Kanetomo, Nicholas Kanetomo,Arran Tyndall

Science Club Leadership Award: Jessica Y. Campos

Institutional Awards and Recognitions for Academic Achievement

Division of Arts and Sciences

Outstanding Academic Achievement in Early Childhood Education:Lean Carroll Newnam, Jennifer Allison Shelton

Distinguished Early Childhood Education Leadership Award: Jennifer Allison Shelton

Outstanding Associate in Fine Arts Student:Kate Lace Carter, Julie Friddle

The Phil and Peggy Link Emerging Artist Award: Amy Jernigan

Distinguished Humanities and Social Sciences Student: Sara Phillips

Outstanding Humanities and Social Sciences Student: Charise Neal

Distinguished Math and Sciences Student:  Jessica Campos

Outstanding Math and Sciences Graduate: Jennifer Simpson

Division of Health and Public Safety

Outstanding Allied Health Student: Tom Jurrissen

Outstanding Health and Physical Education Student: Margaret Crawford

Division of Workforce Development 

Outstanding Air Conditioning, Heating & Refrigeration Technology Student: Thomas Craddock

Outstanding Brewing, Distillation and Fermentation Student: Keith McDonald

Outstanding Computer Information Technology Student: Charles Clayton White

Outstanding Computer-Integrated Machining Student: Joey L. Martin

Outstanding Electrical Systems Technology Student: Tasha Tilley

Outstanding Electronics Student: Joshua Hanks

Outstanding Horticulture Student: Jennifer Altizer                 

Outstanding Industrial Technology Systems Student: Jesse D. Carter

Outstanding Welding Technology Student: Justin Smith     


North Carolina Community College System Recognition (Academic Excellence Award)                                                      

Nominees for the award recognized at awards ceremony with receipt of certificates:

Elisabeth M. Dixon, Vinod K. Mahato, Michael A. Matthews, Jennifer H. Simpson

Academic Excellence Award recipient: Michael A. Matthews       

Recognition of All-USA / Coca-Cola Academic Team Nominations: Stacey Arrington, Elisabeth M. Dixon

Awards and Recognitions for Service, Co-Curricular Participation, and Representation of the College

Intercollegiate Student-Athlete Recognitions

Women’s Volleyball, Fall 2014:         

All-Region 10, Division III Awards: Chanteona Joyce, Claudia Moore, Brandy Scherer

National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) Recognitions:

NJCAA Award for Superior Academic Achievement: Houston Miller, Jeffrey Sawyer

NJCAA Pinnacle Award for Academic Achievement: Michael Matthews

RCC Outstanding Female Student-Athlete: Rhiannon Walker.

RCC Outstanding Male Student-Athlete: Michael Mathews

Rockingham Community College Foundation Awards

Essay Contest Winners:   

1st place: Tisa Massey

2nd place:  Olga Diaz

3rd place:  Adrian Mendoza.


President’s Choice Award: Will Hylton – for his painting “Pritzi”


Students Named to Who’s Who Among Students in American Colleges and Universities:

Jessica Y. Campos, Elisabeth M. Dixon, Vinod K. Mahato,

Michael A. Matthews, Houston G. Miller, Charise M. Neal,

Leah C. Newnam, Melanie A. Peach, Jeffrey A. Sawyer,

Jennifer H. Simpson


Rockingham Community College
PO Box 38
215 Wrenn Memorial Rd.
Wentworth, NC 27375


Monday to Thursday:
8:00 am – 5:00 pm
Friday: 8:00 am – 3:00 pm


336-349-9986 (fax)